In Illinois, Marijuana is approved for medical use for specific conditions, however, if you qualify, what should you know about the law and your rights?
1. Possession amounts – You can purchase 2.5 ounces every 14 days.
2. Growing – You cannot cultivate / grow it at home.
3. Caretakers – You may have a caretaker who is permitted to pick up medication for a very ill / bed-ridden or juvenile patient.
4. Dispensaries – You must have a valid medical cannabis ID card to enter any dispensary. You must register with the State as to which Dispensary you wish to purchase from.
5. ID Card – You must submit to a background check as well as pay a $100 fee per year to own a medical marijuana ID card. Veterans have a reduced fee.
6. Disease not on the list – Beginning in January of 2016, people with diseases not on the approved list currently may begin petitioning the Illinois State government to approve their respective illness.
7. Where to apply – Please visit the Medical Cannabis Pilot Program website here.
8. Stopped by a Police Officer – Please keep your identification card with you if you are stopped by a police officer. Keep in mind, do not drive while consuming cannabis, as this is illegal and can result in a DUI.
9. Public Consumption – You cannot consume cannabis in public or in the view of the public. You may only consume cannabis legally at home or on your property in private.
10. Finding a Physician – A physician must be a doctor of medicine or Osteopathy licensed under the Medical Practice Act of 1987. Learn More.
For a list of current diseases approved for treatment, please see our previous blog post.